My Top 5 Meditation Books

From the staunchly secular to the fully woo-woo, these are my recommendations if you want to learn how to meditate.

Amanda O’Bryan
6 min readJan 6, 2020

I have been teaching meditation for about six years now. And over the course of these years, I’ve read a LOT of books about the practice. There were many that I read once and set aside, but there are some that I come back to over and over. This list is made up of the well-worn, the highlighted and underlined, the books that I have given away and bought again. These are my favorites.

Wherever you go, there you are.

When I first started out on my meditation journey, Jon Kabat-Zinn was my guy. I’m a psychologist and his program, Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR), is the gold standard in the psych world. Pretty much anytime you read an article touting the benefits of meditation, the information was taken from a study done using MBSR.

This book is a gem because you can turn to any page and find a nugget of wisdom. Each chapter is short, only a couple of pages, and they read like little essays. it’s practical, useful and down-to-earth. It’s a…

--

--